This article covers how sharing works, and how best to use sharing to enable the correct stakeholders within your organization. You can find more specifics about sharing assets, conversations, and collections in the articles linked below:
Your ability to share assets is tied to your assigned role in Workstream. In general the following is true of users assigned to the two roles:
Owners - can edit all assets and conversations they have access to, and can make assets public
Members - can edit only assets and conversations for which they are the owner, cannot make assets public
We explore how these two roles behave in different situations in the articles about sharing different entity types.
In addition, owners can create and share collections of assets, while members cannot. Updating the contents of collections also updates the sharing status, so be sure you have a good understanding of how this works by reading this article.
Every asset, conversation, and collection will have its own general access level, which dictates who can see and interact with it. The categories for sharing are as follows:
Private - a private asset, conversation, or collection is visible only to the user who added it to your workspace (the owner of the asset or conversation), and to users who have had it directly shared with them
Shared - a shared asset, conversation, or collection is visible to all workspace owners, but is only visible to members who have had it directly shared with them
Public - public assets, conversations, and collections are visible to all users within the workspace
Direct Sharing vs. General Access
All assets, conversations, and collections have a general access level. However, all of these entities support adding users who would not otherwise have access based on the general access level. This is called direct sharing. The best way to think about direct sharing is that it provides an override or exception to the general setting.
As an example, a shared asset is typically only visible to all owners of the workspace, not its members. If it is directly shared with a workspace member, that asset will then be available to all workspace owners, as well as that member. The direct share otherwise has no impact on the asset's general access level.