💡 When assets have been added to Workstream, a user's ability to see the asset's contents (whether embedded or natively in your analytics application) is governed by whatever permissions that user has in that system. However, a user's ability to navigate to an asset from the asset workspace, and to see its accompanying documentation, is governed by Workstream's own sharing settings.
General Access Level
Every asset has its own general access level, which determines broadly who can see and interact with the asset. These access levels are defined as follows:
Private - a private asset is visible only to the user who added the asset to your workspace (the owner of the asset), and to users who have had the asset directly shared with them
Shared - a shared asset is visible to all workspace owners, but is only visible to members who have had the asset directly shared with them
Public - public assets are visible to all users within the workspace
Owners can use the sharing menu to update the general access level. For example, if they would like to make the asset public, they can simply select the menu option for "public" from the dropdown, and the asset will be available for all users in the workspace. Note that in this instance, users will not receive a direct notification that they have been given access to an asset.
Workspace owners can also share assets directly with individual users. This menu is also available under the sharing options under the information tab when viewing an asset. Simply type in the name or the email address of the user you would like to add, and click "Grant access" to add them.
Users will receive a notification when an asset has been directly shared with them:
Requesting Access to an Asset
There may be situations in which a user has access to an asset in the native tool, but does not have access to it through Workstream. In these situations, the user will not see Workstream content such as FAQs and content overviews. In order to access this content, they will need to request access.
Access requests can be initiated by opening the Concierge Chrome extension.
Or after attempting to open the asset details for an asset the user does not have access to.
Requesting access sends a notification to the owner of the asset. They can use the link contained in the message to open the sharing functionality and provide access.
When an access request is granted, the requesting user receives a notification.
An alternative means of sharing, which is ideal if you have specific groups of assets you would like to surface for groups of users, is to use a collection. A collection brings together a library of assets based on set parameters. Learn more about how asset permissions and collection permissions interact here.
Sharing by Workspace Members
Workspace members are more limited in how they can share assets. By default, all assets added by members are set to private. Members will then have the option to set their status to shared to make them visible to all workspace owners, as well as to share them directly with individual users.
Members also cannot create or share collections of assets.